IFIP TC12 - Artificial Intelligence - IFIP TC12 - Artificial Intelligence

  • WG 12.1 - Knowledge Representation and Reasoning

    The working group 12.1 maintains the webpage KRportal which is a community platform for research on knowledge representation and reasoning.



    Matthias Thimm, University of Koblenz-Landau, e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


    Federico Cerutti, University of Cardiff, e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


    Sylwia Polberg, TU Vienna, e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


    The aim of this working group is to provide a community for researchers in knowledge representation and reasoning. It nurtures both the theoretical and practical advancement of approaches to knowledge representation and reasoning and provides a general forum for the exchange of scientific results.


    The scope of the Working Group’s activities includes (but is not restricted to) the following:   

    • Abductive and inductive reasoning
    • Non-monotonic reasoning
    • Reasoning under inconsistency and incompleteness
    • Reasoning about actions and change
    • Automated reasoning
    • Reasoning about knowledge and belief, epistemic and doxastic logics
    • Logic programming
    • Argumentation
    • Description Logics
    • Uncertain Reasoning, using e.g. probabilistic, possibilistic, fuzzy, or other representations of uncertainty
    • Belief change and merging
    • Implementations and applications of approaches to knowledge representation


    Pietro Baroni Universià degli Studi di Brescia Italy 09.09.15
    Christoph Beierle FernUniversität in Hagen Germany 30.09.15
    Salem Benferhat Université d'Artois France 10.09.15
    Stefano Bistarelli University of Perugia Italy 10.09.15
    Elizabeth Black King's College London UK 10.09.15
    Richard Booth Cardiff University UK 09.09.15
    Federico Cerutti Cardiff University UK 09.09.15
    Claudia D'Amato Università degli Studi di Bari Italy 14.09.15
    James Delgrande Simon Fraser University Canada 02.10.15
    Sylvie Doutre University of Toulouse 1 France 16.09.15
    Stefan Ellmauthaler TU Dresden Germany 11.09.15
    Sarah A. Gaggl University of Dresden Germany 09.09.15
    Massimiliano Giacomin Università degli Studi di Brescia Italy 12.09.15
    Thomas Gordon Fraunhofer FOKUS Berlin Germany 09.09.15
    Davide Grossi University of Liverpool UK 09.09.15
    Andreas Herzig Université Paul Sabatier France 10.09.15
    Anthony Hunter University College London UK 09.09.15
    Souhila Kaci University of Montpellier 2 France 10.09.15
    Gabriele Kern-Isberner TU Dortmund Germany 11.09.15
    Patrick Krümpelmann TU Dortmund Germany 14.09.15
    Beishui Liao Zhejiang University China 09.09.15
    Thomas Linsbichler TU Vienna Austria 11.09.15
    Sheila McIlraith University of Toronto Canada 01.10.15
    Thomas Meyer University of Cape Town South Africa 09.09.15
    Sanjay Modgil King's College London UK 09.09.15
    Nir Oren University of Aberdeen UK 10.09.15
    Sylwia Polberg TU Vienna Austria 18.09.15
    Nico Potyka FernUniversität in Hagen Germany 10.09.15
    Henry Prakken Utrecht University The Netherlands 16.09.15
    Chris Reed University of Dundee UK 09.09.15
    Odinaldo Rodrigues King's College London UK 22.09.15
    Guillermo R. Simari Universidad Nacional del Sur Argentina 09.09.15
    Gerardo I. Simari Universidad Nacional del Sur Argentina 10.09.15
    Hannes Strass Universität Leipzig Germany 12.04.16
    Andrea Tettamanzi University Nice Sophia Antipolis France 09.09.15
    Matthias Thimm Universität Koblenz-Landau Germany 28.10.13
    Mauro Vallati University of Huddersfield UK 09.09.15
    Bas van Gijzel University of Nottingham UK 13.10.15
    Marc van Zee University of Luxembourg Luxembourg 09.09.15
    Srdjan Vesic CRIL Lens France 09.09.15
    Serena Villata Signaux et Systèmes de Sophia-Antipolis France 12.10.15
    Johannes P. Wallner University of Helsinki Finland 27.04.16
    Renata Wassermann Universidade de Sao Paulo Brazil 05.05.16
    Stefan Woltran TU Vienna Austria 10.09.15